Saturday, September 29, 2007

take if from aretha, she knows her shit

dear friends,
today i would like to comment on the topic of respect and bedroom manners. as billy crystal said in When Harry Met Sally, there are low maintenance and high maintenance women. and then there are the women who think they are low maintenance but are really high maintenance and they are the worst kind.

honestly, i am a fairly low maintenance lady (unless of course i only THINK i am low, but am really high) But it would be a hell of a lot easier to be low maintenance if i was getting what i needed out of the relationship to begin with. If men were just a bit more thoughtful, maybe we women wouldn't seem so high maintenance after all. because really, we just want a little respect. and maybe just a little effort on the man's part.

For example, fellas when you don't take the time to get us going in the bedroom, it shows a lack of respect. and then when you get off without taking care of us, it shows a lack of respect. and then when you fall asleep because of the awesome O we gave you, it shows a lack of respect.

Excuse me, but I should not be an afterthought! If you want to keep me around, you better start showing me a little respect because I don't live to please you! sometimes we ladies need pleasing. And that doesn't make us high maintenance! It makes us humans! And we would appreciate it if you chaps would treat us as such!

as Aretha said "R-E-S-P-E-C-T, find out what it means to me!"

Thursday, August 30, 2007

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

it's midnight, cinderella

dear friends,

where the hell are you? this summer has been so lonely! i'm sorry. this is not your fault. i know this. it's my own damn fault. i've got class from 9am-11am and then 1pm-3pm. after that i go straight to work, either at the cafe or at the gelato stand downtown. except for thursdays. thursdays i don't have work, so i actually have a bit of time to myself. time that i have to spend at the grocery store or doing laundry. if there's time after that, i can go to the gym. but really, i haven't had time to eat dinner recently anyway, so what's the point?

I think the problem with relationships these days is that women want to be wanted, whereas boys just want. want food. want sex. want what they want. no explanation needed. no strings attached. We girls, however, want to be wanted. we want men to be absorbed by our presence. we want them to be blind to the other women in the room. We want one man who will worship our existence without being a pushover. we're about quality. men are about quantity. It may be cliche, but Christina's got a point. The guy gets all the glory the more he can score, while the girl can do the same and then you call her a whore.

but really, no one will stop believing in happily ever after.

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

old endings and new beginnings

dear friends.
some people just suck. at life. and there's nothing you can do about it. no matter how hard you try. some people are just destined to make very bad decisions. but i don't understand how someone can ask one day if they should break up with their girlfriend and the next thing i know they are engaged. but i suppose it fits. while chronologically he is 5 years older than her, they both have the maturity level of a seven year old.

i'm currently reading "Dry" the memoir of Augusten Burroughs. i know what you are thinking, "isn't his memoir called Running with Scissors?" well yes. but Dry is a continuation. as his life didn't stop at the end of Running with Scissors. Dry is about his alcoholism. i wasn't sure i'd like it at first, but it is actually a very light-hearted take on his struggles. and he's a very interesting guy. of course the story of his life is going to be interesting. i highly suggest reading it.

i can't wait to get back to my apartment. i went home for my sister's graduation and we took a trip to ikea where i got cool stuff for my apartment! the world's most comfortable futon, a very hip black table, a metal message board, lots of various kitchen supplies and other funky things. hurrah!

Sunday, May 13, 2007

but his ship sank, and your's will too...

hello friends.

i finally moved into my new apartment! it's adorable! i live in the sunroom and there is so much light! there's just a couple minor problems....

#1. i don't have a bed
#2. my roommate hasn't left for the burbs yet.
#3. my roommate has found someone to sublease her half.

now let me explain a little more in depth. the girl i am subleasing from took the bed with her. so i currently have no place to sleep other than directly on the floor. i have been staying over at my bf's apartment since i moved in. but i found someone selling a futon for $20 so i am gonna try to get that one.

my roommate is not a terrible person. but she has been living here for almost a year. so she kind of acts like she is the only one that lives here. and i always feel like i'm bothering her if i'm not just sitting in my room.

i would totally be cool with her finding someone to sublease her half. i wouldn't mind a nice roommate. however. this woman is like 35. seriously. she teaches 6th grade band. and since she's so used to getting up at 6am every morning for school, she plans on getting up at 6am everyday over the summer. i have a very bad feeling that she is going to try to tell me what to do and i also have a very bad feeling that when she does, i will snap. because i seriously am not going to tolerate that. she's not my parent, she's not my friend. and this time, i won't be pushed around.

damn, i think i just need to grow a pair and tell these people what i think!

Wednesday, May 9, 2007

by such and such

dear friends.
i think you should read this poem. i heard it sung in the movie "the matchmaker" and it makes me swoon everytime.

Raglan Road
On Raglan Road on an autumn day I met her first and knew
That her dark hair would weave a snare that i might one day rue;
I saw the danger, yet I walked along the enchanted way,
And I said, let grief be a fallen leaf at the dawning of the day.

On Grafton Street in November we tripped lightly along the ledge
Of the deep ravine where can be seen the worth of passion's pledge,
The Queen of Hearts still making tarts and I not making hay -
O I loved too much and by such and such is happiness thrown away.

I gave her gifts of the mind I gave her the secret sign that's known
To the artists who have known the true gods of sound and stone
And word and tint. I did not stint for I gave her poems to say.
With her own name there and her own dark hair like clouds over field

On a quiet street where old ghosts meet I see her walking now
Away from me so hurriedly my reason must allow
That I had wooed not as I should a creature made of clay -
When the angel woos the clay he'd lose his wings at the dawn of day.
--Patrick Kavanagh

find a good recording or watch that movie and enjoy it.

Monday, May 7, 2007

and i'll sing, yeah i'll sing....

dear friends!

last night i started studying for my upcoming finals! i am done wednesday afternoon! after i studied a bit, i went to see my friend's band play a show. they are called "from the tops of trees" they are really great. check out their myspace! especially the song "to no one." very good. they also played a cover of "lack of color" by death cab. i almost cried a lot.

also, i cannot wait to have the next 2 days off of work! i have been working A LOT! and i really need a break. i am soooooo excited for summer!


and another thing. I watched "walk the line" again today. this time i watched it with my boyfriend. we were all snuggled up on my bed watching it and i felt this feeling that i think might have been love. i don't know. at that moment, i felt like i didn't have to pretend at all. like i could just be and it would be okay. on a side note, the song "walk the line" sounds really pretty when sung an octave or 2 higher.

ok dears. i have got to go to sleep. i have a final at 8am about african economics! hurrah!

Thursday, May 3, 2007

Tuesday, May 1, 2007

in my own little corner, in my own little chair

today friends was beautiful. the weather was gorgeous. and i did not have to work. making it extra glorious! but this is not the main point of today's post. no. i did something very unusual today.

I watched "A Cinderella Story." Yes, the one with Hillary Duff.

This was possibly one of the cheesiest movies that i have ever seen. and i've seen a LOT of cheesy movies. It was just oooooooooooooozing with cheese.

however. i cannot deny that chad michael murray is hott. it is a fact.

I love movies about cinderella. If i were to be a disney princess, i would be cinderella. As a kid, I always felt like my parents and siblings made me do all the work. Also, my family has never had much money. I always dreamed that some handsome prince would come save me from that life. As I reached High School, that handsome prince became the popular boy. I hoped that he would see how smart and beautiful I really was and fall madly in love with me.

well. THAT never happened. I spent most of my time dreaming up scenarios in which we would be paired together for a lab or project and we would spend hours together working on it. And his parents would comment on what a polite young lady I was and he would see me as more than just that girl who got free lunch and worked 2 jobs.

but most of the boys in my hometown were supremely superficial and most of their girlfriends were their parents' friends' daughters. while they lived in an expensive sub-division, I lived next to a landfill. literally.

to quote Snow White, "someday my prince will come"

Monday, April 30, 2007